Presidents Cup Team Preview – Snake Island Muskies

Muskies2015 was a trying season for the Snake Island Muskies, winners of the Three Nations Senior Lacrosse League (TNSLL). Caughnawaga Indians withdrew from the league in April, then days before the season was scheduled to open 2014 league champion Akwesasne Outlawz announced they would be taking a one-year hiatus. That left just two league teams, Snake Island and Tyendinaga Wolfpack, for the season. In past seasons TNSLL teams have played a cross-over schedule with the Quebec Senior Lacrosse League (QSLL) and fortunately an arrangement was made for a limited schedule in 2015. Snake Island was able to play 10 games against QSLL teams in addition to the six league matchups with the Wolfpack.TNSLL

Snake Island (10-7) finished a perfect 6-0 against Tyendinaga during the regular season and defeated the Wolfpack in the TNSLL Championship game played on August 8 by the score of 21-9. It’s the second league title, first since 2011, for coach Ernie Mitchell and the Muskies.

Leading the Muskies offense this season is Joe Hall (23 goals, 35 assists), who’s 58 points was third-highest among QSLL scorers. Other top scorers are Lee Thomas (17 goals, 17 assists), Shane Francis (9 goals, 23 assists) and Cody Kilcoyne (20 goals, 9 assists).

Snake Island Muskies Presidents Cup schedule

Monday: vs Nanaimo Timbermen (WCSLA), 1:00 PM

Tuesday: vs Six Nations Rivermen (OSBLL), 2:00 PM

Wednesday: vs Rockyview Knights (RMLL), 11:00 AM


Tech enthusiast, marketing and media. @Ludwig_Media

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Box Lacrosse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Follow me on Twitter
%d bloggers like this: