Jr. Shamrocks Win FNJBLL Opener

FNLAlogoThe 2015 season of the First Nations Junior B Lacrosse League (FNJBLL) got underway on Saturday at Aréna Kevin-Lowe in Lachute, Québec. The seven-team outfit is a merger of the Iroquois Nations Junior B and Montreal Junior leagues, both which began play in 2014.

Two Québec-based teams clashed in the first-ever league game as Montreal Jr. Shamrocks defeated Kanehsatake Jr. Warriors 6-5. Chad Fairfoull, coach of the Jr. Shamrocks, was pleased with the result of the first game.

“You could tell that both teams were struggling with ball control, but it was the first game of the season for both teams,” said Fairfoull. “As the game wore on though, it became an end-to-end rush fest with good goaltending at both ends keeping the score low and close. Both of these teams will improve dramatically over the season.”

The Jr. Shamrocks were 4-2 in MJLL play in 2014, finishing behind league champion Vermont Jr. Voyaguers (6-0). Montreal swept a best-of 3 series against Kanehsatake before falling to Vermont in two-straight games of the league finals.

Matt Muoin signs with Montreal Jr. Phoenix in 2014

Matt Muoin played with Montreal Jr. Phoenix in 2014

Montreal goalie Matt Muloin, who allowed just one goal in the final period, was acknowledged after the game by Fairfoull as the player of the game.

Jr. Warriors player Jansen Nicholas had this to say about the inaugural game:

“Both teams gave a lot of intensity despite short benches, but I felt we gave up too many scoring opportunities and made a lot of unforced errors that cost us the game.”

League play resumes this weekend when all seven teams will be in action. Full league schedule here.

Saturday, May 23

  • Rochester at Tonawanda
  • Vermont at Kanehsatake
  • Onondaga at Seneca

Sunday, May 24

  • Kanehsatake at Montreal
  • Seneca at Rochester

Jr. Shamrocks vs Jr. Warriors scoring


  • Steve Sambault (2 G, 2 A)
  • Jordan Blondin (2 G, 1 A)
  • Zach Harman (1 G, 1 A)
  • Davin Miller (1 G)
  • Kyle Comintini (1 A)
  • Colin Di Giamncomo (1 A)
  • Joe Mitchell (1 A)
  • Doug Moar (1 A)


  • Kyle Canatonquin (2 G)
  • Alex Beaupre (1 G, 1 A)
  • Joe Beauvais (1 G)
  • Steven McPhee (1 G)
  • Skylar Baker (1 A)
  • Sterling Beaver (1 A)
  • Ben Doxtator (1 A)
  • Jansen Nicholas (1 A)
  • Brandon Rice (1 A)

Tech enthusiast, marketing and media. @Ludwig_Media

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Box Lacrosse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Follow me on Twitter
%d bloggers like this: