Arena Lacrosse League Hold First Draft

The Arena Lacrosse League held its first-ever draft today, placing players on the six member teams. Each club was able to protect seven “local” players before the draft.

ALL teams include: Oshawa Outlaws, Paris RiverWolves, Peterborough Timbermen, Six Nations Snipers, St. Catharines Shockwave and Toronto Monarchs.

2016 ALL Draft

Round 1

  • St. Catharines: Justin Pychel
  • Oshawa: Zach Higgins
  • Toronto: Seth Laidlaw
  • Peterborough: Tim Bergin
  • Six Nations: Travis Bland
  • Paris: Jackson Hulbert

Round 2

  • St. Catharines: Jordan Houtby
  • Oshawa: Mike Triolo
  • Toronto: Luke Laidlaw
  • Peterborough: Jacob Ruest
  • Six Nations: Craig Point
  • Paris: Joel Coyle

Round 3

  • St. Catharines: Andrew Potter
  • Oshawa: Jordan Robertson
  • Toronto: Craig Wende
  • Peterborough: Cody McMahon
  • Six Nations: Ian Martin
  • Paris: Tyler Glebe


See the entire draft results on the Arena Lacrosse League website.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Box Lacrosse

Thunderbirds Advance To Presidents Cup

Tyendinaga Thunderbirds are the 2016 Three Nations Senior Lacrosse League champions – an unlikely outcome back in May. After an 0-3 start to their season (TNSLL teams play a crossover schedule against QSLL teams) the Thunderbirds would finish 5-9 in the regular season, second behind St. Regis Braves (9-5).

Head-to-head the Braves swept the regular season series, winning all four matchups (14-8, 9-8, 12-9, 13-9) against Tyendinaga. But playoffs are a new season and the Thunderbirds embraced the challenge.

TNLL 2016 Stats

A best-of five semifinal series against Caughnawaga Indians ended quickly as the T-birds swept in three games. The team carried that momentum into the finals and stole Game 1 of the finals by defeating St. Regis 11-10 on their own floor. Alex Kedoh Hill and Ben Green each scored four goals to lead the offense.

The setting changed for Game 2 played in Kingston and the Thunderbirds used home floor advantage to win 8-6. Tim Bergin (3 goals, 2 assists) led all scorers while goaltender Trey Adams was excellent in net.

Trailing in the series 2-0, St. Regis refused to give up. Despite a seven-point effort by Kedoh Hill (3 goals, 4 assists) the Braves would win Game 3 by the score of 14-11.

Still confident, Tyendinaga were going home for Game 4 played at Deseronto Community Centre. A raucous crowd were ready to witness history and see the Thunderbirds win their first-ever league championship.BravesTbirds

Early on it looked as if a fifth and deciding game may be needed as St. Regis took control from the opening faceoff and led 5-3 after one period. That advantage grew to 11-7 by second intermission with the regular season winners hoping to force the series back to Massena Arena.

Tyendinaga would not be denied on this night. Led by Jordan Thomas, who scored seven goals, the Thunderbirds completed the comeback in the third to clinch the series and berth to the Presidents Cup. Tim Bergin, Haodais Maracle and Kedoh Hill all contributed six points in the win while Joe Hall added a goal and four assists.

Thunderbirds Presidents Cup schedule

Monday, Aug. 29 vs Native Sons, 10:30 AM

Tuesday, Aug. 30 vs Kahnawake Mohawks, 4:30 PM

Wednesday, Aug. 31 vs Langley Warriors, 1:30 PM

Thursday, Sept. 1 vs TBD

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Box Lacrosse, Canadian Boxla

Founders Cup Begins In Orangeville

2016 Founders CupFounders2016

Orangeville, Ontario

August 16-21



Group A

  • Calgary Chill (AB)
  • Clarington Green Gaels (ON)
  • Saskatchewan SWAT
  • Team Nova Scotia (NS)

Group B

  • Coquitlam Adanacs (BC)
  • Manitoba Blizzard (MB)
  • Orangeville Northmen (host)
  • Seneca WarChiefs (FNLA)
Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Box Lacrosse, Canadian Boxla

Braves Extend TNSLL Finals

After dropping the opening two games of their best-of five series St. Regis Braves knew it was win or go home Saturday night. They did just that and extended the series to next weekend.

Finishing atop the Three Nations Senior Lacrosse League (while playing a crossover schedule with the QSLL), St. Regis came into the finals looking to return to the President’s Cup for the first time since 2012, when the Braves completed back-to-back championships. After a three-year hiatus the club returned to the floor this summer with Chuckie Brown guiding the Braves to a 9-5 record.Braves

Tyendinaga (5-9) swept their opening playoff series against Caughnawaga Indians in three-straight games and were looking for a repeat of that feat in Game 3. St. Regis made its intention clear early on taking an 8-4 advantage at first intermission.

The Thunderbirds closed the gap in the second period, trailing 10-7 headed into the final frame. Each teams score four times in the third as the Braves held on to win 14-11.

Game 4 will be played on Friday at the Deseronto Community Centre – home of the Thunderbirds. A large crowd is expected for one of the most important Senior lacrosse games the area has seen in recent years.

Thunderbirds GM Josh Hill commented on hosting a potential series finale.

“We’re expecting a sell out crowd and are looking forward to having the opportunity to win a title on our home floor.”

TNSLL Finals

Game 1: Thunderbirds 11, Braves 10

Game 2: Thunderbirds 8, Braves 6

Game 3: Braves 14, Thunderbirds 11


Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Box Lacrosse, Canadian Boxla

Braves, Thunderbirds To Clash In TNSLL Finals


St. Regis Braves vs Tyendinaga ThunderbirdsBraves

Three Nations Senior Lacrosse League

Best-of Five Series

Game 1: Friday, August 12 at Massena Arena, 8 PM

Game 2: Saturday, August 13 at Kingston Memorial Centre, 8 PM

Game 3: Sunday, August 14 at Massena Arena, 8 PMTbirds

If necessary

Game 4: Friday, August 19 at Deseronto Community Centre, 8 PM

Game 5: Saturday, August 20 at Massena Arena, 8 PM

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Box Lacrosse, Canadian Boxla

Brewers To Represent PGLL At President’s Cup

PGLLFor the first time in President’s Cup history a team from Saskatchewan will compete in the national tournament! Saskatoon Brewers will represent Saskatchewan Lacrosse and the Prairie Gold Lacrosse League at this years annual championship of Senior B.

Established in 2005, the PGLL Senior division has been a small, but stable group. Six teams have competed over the years with the circuit featuring four teams in 2016. After a 12-game schedule followed by league playoffs saw the Saskatoon Brewers capture their fourth league championship in late June.

Now the Brewers get the opportunity to compete on the highest level of Senior B lacrosse facing the champions of each province along with the two representatives (Can-Am, TNSLL) from the First Nations Lacrosse Association.

Follow along the progress of the Brewers here and the President’s Cup website at Fans can also follow the Brewers on Twitter at @StoonBrewers.

2016 PGLL Standings

Saskatoon Brewers 11-1

Moose Jaw Chiefs 8-4

Regina Heat 5-7

Estevan Impact 0-12

2016 Playoffs


-Chiefs 13, Heat 6

Finals (best-of 3)

Game 1- Chiefs 14, Brewers 13

Game 2- Brewers 14, Chiefs 9

mini-Game 3- Brewers 4, Chiefs 3

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Box Lacrosse, Canadian Boxla

MLL Playoffs Coming To Twin Cities


Major League Lacrosse is coming to the Twin Cities! The MLL Playoffs will see two teams meet in a semifinal scheduled for August 13 at the National Sports Center in Blaine.

For ticket information go to:

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Field Lacrosse, MLL
Follow me on Twitter